Top Five Performances of 2020

I had planned to take a pass on Chicago Classical Review’s annual […]

Dover Quartet launches Beethoven cycle with quicksilver elegance

Beethoven: String Quartets, Op. 18, nos. 1-6. Dover Quartet (Cedille, two […]

Polenzani kicks off a virtual Vocal Arts DC season with strong program

After hearing last spring that most of their subscribers did not […]


Streaming CSO Sessions provide aural, visual balm to listeners in lockdown

Ten months into the Covid-19 pandemic, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, in […]


CSO cancels rest of season

Thu Jan 14, 2021 at 12:02 pm

By Lawrence A. Johnson

Photo: CSO

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra cancelled the rest of its 2020-21 season Thursday, lining out all concerts from April 1 through June 13 due to the continuing Covid-19 pandemic. That also includes all Symphony Center Presents, MusicNOW, and Civic Orchestra events.  

The orchestra will continue to present new programs in its streaming CSO Sessions series along with other content TBA. Go to

It looks increasingly like live classical concerts will not return until the summer. The Grant Park Music Festival recently stated that they plan to have a 2021 season—live and in the park with audiences.


Posted in News
No Comments


January 21

Civic Orchestra members
Episode 1
Montgomery: Starburst […]


Howard Reich to retire from Tribune

Howard Reich, longtime arts critic for the Chicago Tribune, is retiring […]