Critic’s Choice

Fri Oct 20, 2017 at 1:23 pm

By Lawrence A. Johnson

Piotr Anderszewski
Piotr Anderszewski

The University of Chicago Presents launches its season-long series devoted to the music of György Ligeti Friday night with the Arditti Quartet. The venerable new-music advocates, who worked closely with the Hungarian composer, will perform Ligeti’s String Quartets Nos. 1 and 2 alongside Bela Bartók’s String Quartets Nos. 3 and 4. Concert time is 7:30 p.m. tonight at Mandel Hall.


It’s been several years since Piotr Anderszewski last appeared in Chicago, and his return has long been awaited by local pianophiles.  Known for his probing and individual interpretations, the Polish pianist’s program will include two of Bach’s English Suites (Nos. 3 and 6), Book II of Leoš Janáček’s On an Overgrown Path, and Chopin’s Polonaise-Fantasie and Three Mazurkas, Op. 56. Concert time is 3 p.m. Sunday at Symphony Center.; 312-294-3000.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment